Tuesday, May 29, 2012

George Town Mutiara is ... 24 years of age.

Mutiara Lions celebrated their 24th Charter Anniversary with a three day programme from 18 to 20 May 2012 which included fellowship with all four Sister Clubs lions, and two anniversary projects.

It has been a long time since all four sister clubs were present to join in the celebrations. The members from the Lions Club of Medan Raya (District 307A, Indonesia), Lions Club of Singapore Fort Canning (District 308 A1), Lions Club of Kota Budaya (District 308 B1) and the Lions Club of Petaling Jaya Metro (District 308 B2) were all present this time round. Also present to join in the celebrations were Lions from the Ellenbrook Lions Club (District 201W1), Australia.

The Club's first anniversary project was the improvement of the Home Library at the Seri Cahaya Welfare Home in Permatang Damar Laut. The home library was first started by the Club in September 2011 with the assistance of the crew of the mv Logos Hope. This time round, the club donated plastic chairs, fluorescent light bulbs, books, a table and diapers for the children of the home. Past President Wilson Chia of LC Singapore Fort Canning personally donated RM600.00 to the home as did District Chairperson Nelson Wong of LC PJ Mutiara who donated RM60.00.

The second project was during the Charter Anniversary banquet whereat thirty inmates from the Penang Cheshire Home were invited to join in the celebratory dinner. The Club also donated RM1,000.00 to the home.

Some two hundred and eighty Lions, friends of Lions and family members attended the dinner. Amongst the Lions Dignitaries were Past Council Chairperson Dr. Ong Tat Lien & Lady Kathleen; Past Council Chairperson S.T. Yeoh (D.308 B1); Immediate Past District Governor Hudson Hah; Past District Governor Kenneth Saw & Lady Girlie; Past District Governor Jason Kon (D. 308 B1); Past District Governor Woon Fong Piew & Lady Molly.

As the District Governor declined to attend the event at the eleventh hour, District Fellow Awards to Past Presidents Yeow Chin Chuan and May Cheah were presented by Immediate Past District Governor Hudson Hah whilst Past Council Chairperson Dr. Ong Tat Lien was given the honour to present the Customary Awards to the club's three principal officers viz President Mark Labrooy, Secretary May Cheah and Treasurer Ann Khor.

A picture paints a thousand words...

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

22nd Charter Anniversary Celebrations

CNY Charity Dinner & Dance for Elders, Underprivileged Children & Disabled 2010

Charity Countdown 2009